After you create an organization, you should give Owner permissions to a small group of people who will manage the organization account.

Organization members can have owner or member roles:

  • Owners have complete administrative access to your organization. This role should be limited to a few people in your organization. For more information, see "Changing a person's role to owner."

  • Members are the default role for everyone else.

Organization action Owners Members
Invite people to join the organization X
Edit and cancel invitations to join the organization X
Remove members from the organization X
Reinstate former members to the organization X
Add and remove people from all teams X
Promote organization members to team maintainer X
Add collaborators to all repositories X
Access the organization audit log X
Edit the organization's profile page (see "About your organization's profile" for details) X
Delete all teams X
Delete the organization account, including all repositories X
Create teams X X
See all organization members and teams X X
@mention any visible team X X
Can be made a team maintainer X X
Transfer repositories X
View a project board and add or reorganize its cards and columns X X
Create or delete a project board and edit its description X X
Automate actions for project boards X X
Move teams in an organization's hierarchy X

Outside collaborators

To keep your organization data secure while allowing access to repositories, you can add outside collaborators. An outside collaborator is a person who has access to one or more organization repositories but is not explicitly a member of the organization, such as a consultant or temporary employee. For more information, see:

Further reading