People with owner or team maintainer permissions can remove team members from a team. This may be necessary if a person no longer needs access to a repository the team grants, or if a person is no longer focused on a team's projects.

Warning:

  • If you remove a person’s access to a private repository, any of their forks of that private repository are deleted. Local clones of the private repository are retained. If a team's access to a private repository is revoked or a team with access to a private repository is deleted, and team members do not have access to the repository through another team, private forks of the repository will be deleted.

  • When LDAP Sync is enabled, if you remove a person from a repository, they will lose access but their forks will not be deleted. If the person is added to a team with access to the original organization repository within three months, their access to the forks will be automatically restored on the next sync.

  • You are responsible for ensuring that people who have lost access to a repository delete any confidential information or intellectual property.

  1. In the top right corner of GitHub Enterprise, click your profile photo, then click Your profile. Profile photo

  2. On the left side of your profile page, under "Organizations", click the icon for your organization. organization icons

  3. Under your organization name, click Teams. Teams tab

  4. On the Teams tab, click the name of the team. List of the organization's teams

  5. Select the person or people you'd like to remove. Check box next to organization member

  6. Above the list of team members, use the drop-down menu and click Remove from team. Drop-down menu with option to change role