About notifications beta

Notifications provide updates about the activity on GitHub that you've subscribed to. You can use the notifications inbox to customize, triage, and manage your updates.

Notifications beta is currently released as a limited public beta feature and is not yet available to everyone. For more information, see "Enabling notifications beta."

The new notifications inbox offers an improved way to manage your notifications on GitHub and GitHub for mobile. For more information, see "Managing notifications from your inbox."

In this article

Enabling notifications beta

Once you are invited to the beta, you can enable your upgraded inbox with feature preview. For more information, see "Exploring early access releases with feature preview."

Notifications and subscriptions

You can choose to receive ongoing updates about specific activity on GitHub through a subscription. Notifications are updates that you receive for specific activity that you are subscribed to.

Subscription options

You can choose to subscribe to notifications for:

  • A conversation in a specific issue, pull request, or gist.
  • All activity in a repository or team discussion.
  • CI activity, such as the status of workflows in repositories set up with GitHub Actions.
  • Releases in a repository.

You can also choose to automatically watch all repositories that you have push access to, except forks. You can watch any other repository you have access to manually by clicking Watch.

If you're no longer interested in a conversation, you can unsubscribe, unwatch, or customize the types of notifications you'll receive in the future. For example, if you no longer want to receive notifications from a particular repository, you can click Unsubscribe. For more information, see "Managing your subscriptions."

Default subscriptions

In general, you are automatically subscribed to conversations by default when you have:

  • Not disabled automatic watching for repositories or teams you've joined in your notification settings. This setting is enabled by default.
  • Been assigned to an issue or pull request.
  • Opened a pull request, issue, or created a team discussion post.
  • Commented on a thread.
  • Subscribed to a thread manually by clicking Watch or Subscribe.
  • Had your username @mentioned.
  • Changed the state of a thread, such as by closing an issue or merging a pull request.
  • Had a team you're a member of @mentioned.

By default, you also automatically watch all repositories that you create and are owned by your user account.

To unsubscribe from conversations you're automatically subscribed to, you can change your notification settings or directly unsubscribe or unwatch activity on GitHub. For more information, see "Managing your subscriptions."

Customizing notifications and subscriptions

You can choose to view your notifications through the notifications inbox at https://github.com/notifications/beta and in the GitHub for mobile app, through your email, or some combination of these options.

To customize the types of updates you'd like to receive and where to send those updates, configure your notification settings. For more information, see “Configuring notifications.”

To keep your subscriptions manageable, review your subscriptions and watched repositories and unsubscribe as needed. For more information, see "Managing subscriptions for activity on GitHub."

To customize how you'd like to receive updates for specific pull requests or issues, you can configure your preferences within the issue or pull request. For more information, see “Triaging a single notification.”

You can enable push notifications in the GitHub for mobile app. For more information, see "Configuring notifications."

Reasons for receiving notifications

Your inbox is configured with default filters, which represent the most common reasons that people need to follow-up on their notifications. For more information about inbox filters, see "Managing notifications from your inbox."

Your inbox shows the reasons you're receiving notifications as a label.

Reasons labels in inbox

You can filter your inbox by the reason you're subscribed to notifications. For example, to only see pull requests where someone requested your review, you can use the review-requested query filter.

Filter notifications by review requested reason

If you've configured notifications to be sent by email and believe you're receiving notifications that don't belong to you, consider troubleshooting with email headers, which show the intended recipient. For more information, see "Configuring notifications."

Triaging notifications from your inbox

To effectively manage your notifications, you can triage your inbox with options to:

  • Remove a notification from the inbox with Done. You can review Done notifications all in one place by clicking Done in the sidebar or by using the query is:done.
  • Mark a notification as read or unread.
  • Save a notification for later review. Saved notifications are flagged in your inbox. You can review Saved notifications all in one place in the sidebar by clicking Saved or by using the query is:saved.
  • Automatically unsubscribe from this notification and future updates from this conversation. Unsubscribing also removes the notification from your inbox. If you unsubscribe from a conversation and someone mentions your username or a team you're on that you're receiving updates for, then you will start to receive notifications from this conversation again.

From your inbox you can also triage multiple notifications at once or preview where a notification is from on GitHub. For more information, see "Managing notifications from your inbox" and "Triaging a single notification."

Customizing your notifications inbox

To focus on a group of notifications in your inbox on GitHub or GitHub for mobile, you can create custom filters. For example, you can create a custom filter for an open source project you contribute to and only see notifications for that repository in which you are mentioned. For more information, see "Managing notifications from your inbox." For more examples of how to customize your triaging workflow, see "Customizing a workflow for triaging your notifications."

Notification retention policy

Notifications that are not marked as Saved are kept for 5 months. Notifications marked as Saved are kept indefinitely. If your saved notification is older than 5 months and you unsave it, the notification will disappear from your inbox within a day.

Feedback and support

Contact GitHub Support for additional help or questions about notifications. During the beta period, we may change aspects of notifications based on user feedback.

If you have feedback or feature requests for notifications, use the feedback form for notifications.

Ask a human

Can't find what you're looking for?

Contact us