Managing repository settings
Repository administrators and organization owners can change several settings, including the names and ownership of a repository and the public or private visibility of a repository. They can also delete a repository.
Setting repository visibility→
You can choose who can view your repository.
Managing teams and people with access to your repository→
You can see everyone who has access to your repository and adjust permissions.
Classifying your repository with topics→
To help other people find and contribute to your project, you can add topics to your repository related to your project's intended purpose, subject area, affinity groups, or other important qualities.
Customizing how changed files appear on GitHub→
To keep certain files from displaying in diffs by default, or counting toward the repository language, you can mark them with the linguist-generated attribute in a .gitattributes file.
Displaying a sponsor button in your repository→
You can add a sponsor button in your repository to increase the visibility of funding options for your open source project.
Customizing your repository's social media preview→
You can customize the image displayed on social media platforms when someone links to your repository.
Viewing deployment activity for your repository→
You can view information about deployments for your entire repository or a specific pull request.
Managing the forking policy for your repository→
You can allow or prevent the forking of a specific private or internal repository owned by an organization.
Configuring autolinks to reference external resources→
You can add autolinks to external resources like JIRA issues and Zendesk tickets to help streamline your workflow.
Renaming a repository→
You can rename a repository if you're either an organization owner or have admin permissions for the repository.
Transferring a repository→
You can transfer repositories to other users or organization accounts.
Deleting a repository→
You can delete any repository or fork if you're either an organization owner or have admin permissions for the repository or fork. Deleting a forked repository does not delete the upstream repository.
Restoring a deleted repository→
You can restore some deleted repositories to recover their contents.