Article version: Enterprise Server 2.17

Reinstating a former member of your organization

You can add former members to your organization, and choose whether to restore the person's former role, access permissions, forks, and settings.

If you remove a user from your organization, convert an organization member to an outside collaborator, or a user is removed from your organization because you've required members and outside collaborators to enable two-factor authentication (2FA), the user's access privileges and settings are saved for three months. You can restore the user's privileges if you add them back to the organization within that time frame.

When you reinstate a former organization member, you can restore:

  1. In the top right corner of GitHub Enterprise, click your profile photo, then click Your profile.

    Profile photo

  2. On the left side of your profile page, under "Organizations", click the icon for your organization.

    organization icons

  3. Under your organization name, click People.

    The People tab

  4. On the People tab, click Add member.

    Add member button

  5. Type the username of the person you want to reinstate and click Invite.

  6. Choose whether to restore that person's previous privileges in the organization or clear their previous privileges and set new access permissions, then click Add and reinstate or Add and start fresh.

    Choose whether to restore privileges

  7. If you cleared the previous privileges for a former organization member, choose a role for the user, and optionally add them to some teams, then click Add member.

    Role and team options and add member button

Further reading

Ask a human

Can't find what you're looking for?

Contact us