Article version: Enterprise Server 2.17

Deleting an organization account

When you delete an organization, all repositories, forks of private repositories, wikis, issues, pull requests, and Project or Organization Pages are deleted as well.

1. Back up your organization content

Once you delete an organization, GitHub cannot restore your content. Therefore, before you delete your organization, make sure you have a copy of all repositories, wikis, and issues from the account.

2. Delete the organization

  1. In the top right corner of GitHub Enterprise, click your profile photo, then click Your profile.

    Profile photo

  2. On the left side of your profile page, under "Organizations", click the icon for your organization.

    organization icons

  3. Under your organization name, click Settings.

    Organization settings button

  4. Near the bottom of the organization's settings page, click Delete this Organization.

    Delete this organization button

Ask a human

Can't find what you're looking for?

Contact us