This version of GitHub Enterprise will be discontinued on This version of GitHub Enterprise was discontinued on 2020-01-22. No patch releases will be made, even for critical security issues. For better performance, improved security, and new features, upgrade to the latest version of GitHub Enterprise. For help with the upgrade, contact GitHub Enterprise support.

Removing a collaborator from a personal repository

When you remove a collaborator from your project, they lose read/write access to your repository. If the repository is private and the person has created a fork, then that fork is also deleted.

If you're using GitHub Free, you can add unlimited collaborators on public repositories, and up to three collaborators on private repositories owned by your personal account. To add more than three other people as repository collaborators, upgrade to GitHub Pro.

Deleting forks of private repositories

While forks of private repositories are deleted when a collaborator is removed, the person will still retain any local clones of your repository.

Removing collaborator permissions from a person contributing to a repository

  1. On GitHub Enterprise, navigate to the main page of the repository.

  2. Under your repository name, click Settings.

    Repository settings button

  3. In the left sidebar, click Collaborators & teams.

    Collaborators tab

  4. Next to the collaborator you want to remove, click the X icon.

    Remove link

Further reading

Ask a human

Can't find what you're looking for?

Contact us