About archiving repositories
When you archive a repository, you are letting people know that a project is no longer actively maintained.
We recommend that you close all issues and pull requests, as well as update the README file and description, before you archive a repository.
Once a repository is archived, you cannot add or remove collaborators or teams. Contributors with access to the repository can only fork or star your project.
When a repository is archived, its issues, pull requests, code, labels, milestones, projects, wiki, releases, commits, tags, branches, reactions, and comments become read-only. To make changes in an archived repository, you must unarchive the repository first.
You can search for archived repositories. For more information, see "Searching for repositories." You can also search for issues and pull requests within archived repositories. For more information, see "Searching issues and pull requests."