Article version: GitHub.com

Setting permissions for deleting or transferring repositories

You can allow organization members with admin permissions to a repository to delete or transfer the repository, or limit the ability to delete or transfer repositories to organization owners only.

Owners can set permissions for deleting or transferring repositories in an organization.

  1. In the top right corner of GitHub, click your profile photo, then click Your profile.

    Profile photo

  2. On the left side of your profile page, under "Organizations", click the icon for your organization.

    organization icons

  3. Under your organization name, click Settings.

    Organization settings button

  4. In the left sidebar, click Member privileges.

    Member privileges option in org settings

  5. Under "Repository deletion and transfer", select or deselect Allow members to delete or transfer repositories for this organization.

    Checkbox to allow members to delete repositories

  6. Click Save.

Ask a human

Can't find what you're looking for?

Contact us