Article version: GitHub.com

Reinstating a former member of your organization

You can invite former organization members to rejoin your organization, and choose whether to restore the person's former role, access permissions, forks, and settings.

If you remove a user from your organization, convert an organization member to an outside collaborator, or a user is removed from your organization because you've required members and outside collaborators to enable two-factor authentication (2FA), the user's access privileges and settings are saved for three months. You can restore the user's privileges if you invite them back to the organization within that time frame.

You can send an invitation to reinstate a user's privileges and access to the organization before they have enabled two-factor authentication and they must enable 2FA before they can accept your invitation to rejoin the organization.

When you reinstate a former organization member, you can restore:

  1. In the top right corner of GitHub, click your profile photo, then click Your profile.
    Profile photo
  1. On the left side of your profile page, under "Organizations", click the icon for your organization.

    organization icons

  2. Under your organization name, click People.

    The People tab

  3. On the People tab, click Invite member.

    Invite member button

  1. Type the username of the person you want to reinstate and click Invite.
  1. Choose whether to restore that person's previous privileges in the organization or clear their previous privileges and set new access permissions, then click Invite and reinstate or Invite and start fresh.
    Choose to restore info or not
  1. If you cleared the previous privileges for a former organization member, choose a role for the user, and optionally add them to some teams, then click Send invitation.
    Role and team options and send invitation button
  1. The invited person will receive an email inviting them to the organization. They will need to accept the invitation before becoming a member of the organization.

You can edit or cancel an invitation any time before the user accepts.

Further reading

Ask a human

Can't find what you're looking for?

Contact us