Managing user account settings
You can change several settings for your personal account, including changing your username and deleting your account.
Changing your GitHub username
You can change your GitHub Enterprise username at any time.
Merging multiple user accounts
If you have separate accounts for work and personal use, you can merge the accounts.
Deleting your user account
You can delete your GitHub Enterprise user account at any time.
Permission levels for a user account repository
A repository owned by a user account has two permission levels: the repository owner and collaborators.
Permission levels for user-owned project boards
A project board owned by a user account has two permission levels: the project board owner and collaborators.
Managing access to your user account's project boards
As a project board owner, you can add or remove a collaborator and customize their permissions to a project board.
What happens when I change my username?
When you change your GitHub username, most references to your repositories under the old username automatically change to the new username. However, some links to your profile won't automatically redirect. Commits made with your
email@example.com email address will no longer be associated with your account. Commits made using your
IDfirstname.lastname@example.org email address will continue to be associated with your account.
Best practices for leaving your company
Changing jobs is a fact of life. If you use your GitHub user account for both personal and work purposes, there are a few things to keep in mind when you leave your company or organization.
What does the 'Available for hire' checkbox do?
Use the Available for hire checkbox to view GitHub Jobs posts within GitHub.
Converting a user into an organization
You can convert your user account into an organization. This allows more granular permissions for repositories that belong to the organization.