Managing the automatic deletion of branches

You can have head branches automatically deleted after pull requests are merged in your repository.

Anyone with admin permissions to a repository can enable or disable the automatic deletion of branches.

  1. On GitHub, navigate to the main page of the repository.

  2. Under your repository name, click Settings.

    Repository settings button

  3. Under "Merge button", select or unselect Automatically delete head branches.

    Checkbox to enable or disable automatic deletion of branches

Further reading

Ask a human

Can't find what you're looking for?

Contact us