Blocking a user from your personal account

You can block a user to deny them access to your activity and repositories, and to prevent them from sending you notifications.

You can block a user in your account settings or from the user's profile. The user will not get notified when you block them. If you want to avoid contributing to the same project as someone you've blocked, you can choose to display a warning on any repositories with prior contributions from a blocked user.

Tip: If you're blocking a user because of a heated conversation, consider locking the conversation so only collaborators can comment.

When you block a user:

After you've blocked a user, they cannot:

In repositories you own, blocked users also cannot:

Blocking a user in your account settings

  1. In the upper-right corner of any page, click your profile photo, then click Settings.

    Settings icon in the user bar

  2. In your user settings sidebar, click Blocked users.

    Blocked users tab

  3. Under "Block a user", type the username of the user you'd like to block, then click Block user.

    Username field and block button

  4. Optionally, to display a warning when you visit a repository where a blocked user is a contributor, select Warn me when a blocked user is a prior contributor to a repository.

    Warn about blocked users option

Blocking a user from their profile page

  1. Visit the user's profile page.

  2. In the left sidebar, under the user's profile picture, click Block or report user.

    Block or report user link

  3. Click Block user.

    Modal box with options to block user or report abuse

Contact GitHub Support if you're being harassed. GitHub does not tolerate abuse. For more information on GitHub's policies, see our Terms of Service and Community Guidelines.

Further reading

Ask a human

Can't find what you're looking for?

Contact us