Blocking a user from your organization

Organization owners can block a user to remove the user's ability to collaborate in the organization's repositories.

You can block a user from within your organization's settings or from a specific comment made by the user. When you block a user in a comment, you can choose to send the user a notification explaining that they were blocked and why. Otherwise, the user is not directly notified that you've blocked them.

When you block a user, you can choose to block them indefinitely or for a specific amount of time. If you block someone for a specific amount of time, they are automatically unblocked after the chosen time expires. If you block someone indefinitely, you can unblock them manually at any time. For more information, see "Unblocking a user from your organization."

Tip: If you're blocking a user because of a heated conversation, consider locking the conversation so only collaborators can comment.

At the time that you block a user from your organization:

After you've blocked a user from your organization, they cannot:

In your organization's repositories, blocked users also cannot:

Blocking a user in a comment

  1. Navigate to the comment whose author you would like to block.
  2. In the upper-right corner of the comment, click , then click Block user.
    The horizontal kebab icon and comment moderation menu showing the block user option
  3. If you'd like to set a time limit for the block, use the Block user drop-down menu, and select the amount of time you'd like to block the user.
    Block time limit in the block user drop-down menu
  4. If you'd like to hide all of the comments the user has made in the organization, select Hide this user's comments and choose a reason.
    Send a notification in the block user drop-down menu
  5. If you'd like to notify the user why they're being blocked, select Send a notification to this user.
    Send a notification in the block user drop-down menu
  6. To block the user, click Block user from organization or Block user from organization and send message.
    Block user button

Blocking a user in the organization settings

  1. To block an organization member, first remove the user from the organization.

  2. In the top right corner of GitHub, click your profile photo, then click Your profile.

    Profile photo

  3. On the left side of your profile page, under "Organizations", click the icon for your organization.

    organization icons

  4. Under your organization name, click Settings.

    Organization settings button

  5. In your organization's Settings sidebar, click Blocked users.

    Blocked users in organization's settings

  6. Under "Block a user", type the username of the user you'd like to block.

    Username field

  7. If you'd like to set a time limit for the block, use the Block options drop-down menu, and select the amount of time you'd like to block the user.

    Block options drop-down menu

  8. Click Block user.

    Block button

Further reading

Ask a human

Can't find what you're looking for?

Contact us