About per-user pricing

With per-user pricing, organizations pay based on team size to access advanced collaboration and management tools for teams, and optionally, security, compliance, and deployment controls.

New organizations can build public and open-source projects with GitHub Team for Open Source, or upgrade to a paid product with per-user pricing.

Organizations using a paid subscription before May 11, 2016 can choose to stay on their existing per-repository plan or switch to per-user pricing. We will notify you twelve months before any mandated change to your plan. For more information on switching your plan, see "Upgrading your GitHub billing plan."

For more information on per-user billing options, see "GitHub's billing plans."

How many seats do I need for my organization?

Organization owners and members each fill a seat. If you've sent a pending invitation to a prospective organization member, the invitation will fill a seat.

Outside collaborators and bot accounts will count toward your organization's total of paid seats if they are given access to a private repository.

How can I add or downgrade my organization's paid seats?

You can add paid seats to your organization anytime. If you're paying for more seats than you're using, you can also remove paid seats from your organization. For more information, see "Upgrading your GitHub billing plan" and "Downgrading your GitHub billing plan."

If you have questions about your organization's subscription, contact GitHub Support or GitHub Premium Support.

If I keep my organization on a per-repository plan, can I upgrade or downgrade to a different per-repository plan?

You can upgrade or downgrade between legacy paid plans in your organization's billing settings. When you upgrade to a plan with more private repositories, we'll immediately move your account to your new plan and bill you for the difference in price, prorated for the number of days left in your billing cycle.

When you downgrade to a legacy paid plan with fewer private repositories, your new plan will take effect on your next billing date. If you have more private repositories than your new plan allows for, your private repositories will be locked when your new plan takes effect. To reduce your number of private repositories, you can make some of your private repositories public, or you can clone your private repositories locally and delete the copies on GitHub.

Further reading

Ask a human

Can't find what you're looking for?

Contact us