About archiving repositories
When you archive a repository, you are letting people know that a project is no longer actively maintained.
Note: If you have a legacy per-repository billing plan, you will still be charged for your archived repository. If you don't want to be charged for an archived repository, you must upgrade to a new product. For more information, see "GitHub's billing plans."
We recommend that you close all issues and pull requests, as well as update the README file and description, before you archive a repository.
Once a repository is archived, you cannot add or remove collaborators or teams. Contributors with access to the repository can only fork or star your project.
When a repository is archived, its issues, pull requests, code, labels, milestones, projects, wiki, releases, commits, tags, branches, reactions, and comments become read-only. To make changes in an archived repository, you must unarchive the repository first.
You can search for archived repositories. For more information, see "Searching for repositories." You can also search for issues and pull requests within archived repositories. For more information, see "Searching issues and pull requests."