When you change your GitHub username, most references to your repositories under the old username automatically change to the new username. However, some links to your profile won't automatically redirect. Commits made with your username@users.noreply.github.com address will no longer be associated with your account.

Repository references

After you change your username, GitHub will automatically redirect references to your repositories.

  • Web links to your existing repositories will continue to work. This can take a few minutes to complete after you initiate the change.
  • Command line pushes from your local repository clones to the old remote tracking URLs will continue to work.

However, after changing your username, your old username will become available for anyone else to claim. If the new owner of your old username creates a repository with the same name as your repository, that will override the redirect entry and your redirect will stop working. Because of this possibility, we recommend you update all existing remote repository URLs after changing your username.

GitHub cannot set up redirects for:

  • @mentions using your old username
  • Links to Gists with your old username

Links to your previous profile page

After changing your username, links to your previous profile page, such as https://github.com/previoususername, will return a 404 error. We recommend updating any links to your GitHub account from elsewhere, such as your LinkedIn or Twitter profile.

Your Git commits

If your previous Git commits were correctly attributed to your account and displayed in your contributions graph, and they were made with an email address that is not your username@users.noreply.github.com address, they will continue to be correctly attributed to your new username.

However, if your previous commits were made with your username@users.noreply.github.com address (because you chose to keep your email address private or set it as your Git email address) those commits will no longer be associated with your account or displayed on your contributions graph after changing your username.

Further reading