Private repositories may be locked after a period of nonpayment, or if the private parent repository of your private fork is made public and you are on the free plan.

If your private repository is locked, you can unlock it by upgrading to a paid plan, or by making the repository public.

We will not make a locked repository public, nor will we automatically delete it. However, GitHub does reserve the right to delete content from locked repositories from our active servers after a period of nonpayment.

Upgrading to a paid plan

If your private repository is locked after a period of nonpayment and you upgrade to a paid plan, we will only charge you for the time moving forward; we do not ask you to pay for the time lapsed in locked mode.

For more information on upgrading your account, see:

Changing your private repository to public

Alternatively, you can change a locked private repository to public at any time. This will restore your access, but be warned - everyone can access public repositories.

If you need short-term access to a locked repository to move it off of the account, please contact GitHub Support.