You can transfer a repository owned by your personal user account to another user or to an organization where you have repository creation permissions.
- Forking a repository is NOT the same as transferring it. Forking just creates a copy of the original repository.
- If you create a new repository under your account with the same name as the transferred repository, existing redirects to the transferred repository will break. Instead, use a different name for the new repository.
Transferring to a user account
You can transfer your repository to any user account that accepts your repository transfer. If you are transferring a private repository, the new repository owner must have a paid plan.
When a repository is transferred between two user accounts, the original repository owner and collaborators are automatically added as collaborators to the new repository. When a repository is transferred between two user accounts, issue assignments are left intact.
Transferring to an organization
Users must have repository creation permissions within the receiving organization before they can transfer a repository that they individually own. If Allow members to create repositories for this organization has been disabled in the receiving organization, only organization owners can transfer repositories into the organization.
Your organization's default membership privileges will apply to the transferred repository. For example, if your default repository permission settings allow organization members read/write access, then all organization members can clone, pull, and push all repositories, including transferred repositories. See "Permission Levels for an Organization" for more information.
If you transfer a repository from a user account to an organization, issues assigned to members in the organization remain intact. All other issue assignees are cleared. Only owners in the organization are allowed to create new issue assignments.
Transferring a repository to another user account or to an organization
On GitHub, navigate to the main page of the repository.
Under your repository name, click Settings.
- Read the warnings and enter the repository name to confirm that you've done so.
- Type the name of the new owner and click I understand, transfer this repo.