People with owner or team maintainer permissions can remove team members from a team. This may be necessary if a person no longer needs access to a repository the team grants, or if a person is no longer focused on a team's projects.
- If you remove a person’s access to a private repository, any of their forks of that private repository are deleted. Local clones of the private repository are retained. If a team's access to a private repository is revoked or a team with access to a private repository is deleted, and team members do not have access to the repository through another team, private forks of the repository will be deleted.
You are responsible for ensuring that people who have lost access to a repository delete any confidential information or intellectual property.
Organization owners can disable the ability to fork a specific private repository or to fork any private repository in an organization. For more information, see "Allowing people to fork a private repository owned by your organization" and "Allowing people to fork private repositories in your organization."
In the top right corner of GitHub, click your profile photo, then click Your profile.
On the left side of your profile page, under "Organizations", click the icon for your organization.
Under your organization name, click Teams.
On the Teams tab, click the name of the team.
Select the person or people you'd like to remove.
- Above the list of team members, use the drop-down menu and click Remove from team.