If members of your organization no longer require to any repositories owned by the organization, you can remove them from the organization.
Only organization owners can remove members from an organization.
Warning: When you remove users from an organization:
- the paid seat count does not automatically downgrade. To pay for fewer seats after removing users from your organization, follow the steps in "Downgrading your organization's paid seats."
- they will lose access to any private forks they have of your organization's private repositories. They may still have local copies of those forks. However, they will be unable to sync them with your organization's repositories. Their private forks can be restored if the user was formerly an organization member and is reinstated as an organization member within three months of being removed from the organization.
Revoking the user's membership
In the top right corner of GitHub, click your profile photo, then click Your profile.
On the left side of your profile page, under "Organizations", click the icon for your organization.
Under your organization name, click People.
Select the member or members you'd like to remove from the organization.
- Above the list of members, use the drop-down menu, and click Remove from organization.
- Review the member or members who will be removed from the organization, then click Remove members.
Note: When you remove a user from your organization, their membership data is saved for three months so that you can restore it if you invite the user to rejoin the organization within that time frame:
- The person's role in the organization
- Any private forks of repositories owned by the organization
- Membership in the organization's teams
- Previous repository access and permissions in the organization
- Stars for organization repositories
Issue assignments in the organization
For more information, see "Reinstating a former member of your organization."