A repository owned by a user account has two permission levels: the repository owner and collaborators.

Tip: If you require more granular read/write access to a repository owned by your user account, consider transferring the repository to an organization. For more information, see "About repository transfers."

Owner access on a repository owned by a user account

The repository owner has full control of the repository. In addition to all the permissions allowed by repository collaborators, the repository owner can:

There is only one owner of a repository owned by a user account; this permission cannot be shared with another user account. To transfer ownership of a repository to another user, see "How to transfer a repository."

Collaborator access on a repository owned by a user account

Note: Collaborators can only have push access to a private repository owned by a user account. Push access includes write and read permissions.

Collaborators on a personal repository can:

  • Push to (write), pull from (read), and fork (copy) the repository
  • Create, apply, and delete labels and milestones
  • Open, close, re-open, and assign issues
  • Edit and delete comments on commits, pull requests, and issues
  • Merge and close pull requests
  • Send pull requests from forks of the repository
  • Create and edit Wikis
  • Create and edit Releases
  • Remove themselves as collaborators on the repository
  • Submit a review on a pull request that will affect its mergeability