You can change several settings for your personal account, including changing your username and deleting your account.
You can change your GitHub username at any time.
If you have separate accounts for work and personal use, you can merge the accounts.
You can delete your GitHub user account at any time. Before you do so, you should hand over the reins of any organizations you might own.
A repository owned by a user account has two permission levels: the repository owner and collaborators.
When you change your GitHub username, most references to your repositories under the old username automatically change to the new username. However, some links to your profile won't automatically redirect. Commits made with your
email@example.com address will no longer be associated with your account.
Changing jobs is a fact of life. If you use your GitHub user account for both personal and work purposes, there are a few things to keep in mind when you leave your company or organization.
Use the Available for hire checkbox to view GitHub Jobs posts within GitHub.
You can connect your GitHub identity to third-party applications using OAuth. When authorizing one of these applications, you should ensure you trust the application, review who it's developed by, and review the kinds of information the application wants to access.