Repository administrators and organization owners can change several settings, including the names and ownership of a repository and the public or private visibility of a repository. They can also delete a repository.

About repository transfers

When you transfer a repository to a new owner, they can immediately administer the repository's contents, issues, pull requests, releases, and settings.

Transferring a repository owned by your personal account

You can transfer a repository owned by your personal user account to another user or to an organization where you have repository creation permissions.

Transferring a repository owned by your organization

You can transfer a repository owned by your organization to your personal user account or to another organization where you have repository creation permissions.

Allowing people to fork a private repository owned by your organization

Organization owners and people with admin permissions for a repository can allow or prevent the forking of a specific private repository owned by your organization.

Renaming a repository

You can rename a repository if you're either an organization owner or have admin permissions for the repository.

Making a public repository private

In a paid account you can change a repository's visibility from public to private if you're an organization owner or have admin permissions for the repository.

Making a private repository public

You can change a repository's visibility from private to public if you're an organization owner or have admin permissions for the repository.

Deleting a repository

You can delete any repository or fork if you're either an organization owner or have admin permissions for the repository or fork. Deleting a forked repository does not delete the upstream repository.