Repository owners and collaborators, and people with write access to a repository, can lock conversations on issues, pull requests, and commits permanently or temporarily to defuse a heated interaction.

It's appropriate to lock a conversation when the entire conversation is not constructive or violates your community's code of conduct or GitHub's Community Guidelines. When you lock a conversation, you can also specify a reason, which is publicly visible.

Locking a conversation creates a timeline event that is visible to anyone with read access to the repository. However, the username of the person who locked the conversation is only visible to people with write access to the repository. For anyone without write access, the timeline event is anonymized.

Anonymized timeline event for a locked conversation

While a conversation is locked, only people with write access and repository owners and collaborators can add comments.

  1. Optionally, write a comment explaining why you're locking the conversation.
  2. In the right margin of the issue or pull request, or above the comment box on the commit page, click Lock conversation. Lock conversation link
  3. Optionally, choose a reason for locking the conversation. Reason for locking a conversation menu
  4. Read the information about locking conversations and click Lock conversation on this issue, Lock conversation on this pull request, or Lock conversation on this commit.Confirm lock with a reason dialog box
  5. When you're ready to unlock the conversation, click Unlock conversation. Unlock conversation link

Further reading