When you upgrade or downgrade your account, changes are immediately applied. If you're upgrading, you'll be able to create private repositories immediately.

Warning: If you're downgrading to a free plan, private repositories are locked. Make sure you clone your private repositories before you downgrade.

Changing your billing plan

When you upgrade from the free plan to the paid plan on a monthly or yearly billing cycle, we'll immediately move your account to the paid plan. If you downgrade to the free plan, you'll receive a refund, prorated for the number of days left in your billing cycle.

Example of downgrading from a monthly paid plan to a free plan

Kumiko has a personal user account and pays for the paid plan on the 5th of every month. If Kumiko downgrades from the paid plan to the free plan on October 10th, starting that day, she'll be on the free plan and will receive a refund for the remaining unused portion of the month.

Example of downgrading from a yearly paid plan to a free plan

Mada is a yearly user who pays for the paid plan on October 5th every year. If Mada downgrades from the paid to the free plan on December 10th, her account immediately switches to the free plan with a prorated refund, based on the number of days between December 10th to October 5th of the following year.

Further reading