You can downgrade your account's paid plan or delete your account at any time.

You can have a paid plan for your personal account or your organization, so you'll need to determine which account you want to cancel. You can see all of the accounts that you have access permissions to downgrade or delete in your account settings:

  1. In the upper-right corner of any page, click your profile photo, then click Settings. Settings icon in the user bar
  2. On the left side of the page, you'll see a menu bar with your personal account, as well as any organizations you have owner access to.

Notes:

  • Only organization members with the owner or billing manager role can access or change billing settings for your organization.

  • Plan changes take effect immediately. Make sure you clone your private repositories before you downgrade, or you won't be able to access them without upgrading to paid again.

To downgrade your personal account or organization to the free plan, see "Downgrading a user account to free" or "Downgrading your organization to free."

To delete your personal account or organization, see "Deleting your user account" or "Deleting an organization."