You can downgrade your organization to the free plan at any time.

Downgrading to free does not affect your subscriptions for other paid features and products. If you want to cease all of your paid subscriptions on GitHub, you must downgrade each paid subscription separately.

Warnings:

  • Only organization members with the owner or billing manager role can access or change billing settings for your organization.

  • When you downgrade your billing plan, your new plan takes effect on your next billing date. Make sure to back up your private repositories before your next billing date, or you won't be able to access them without upgrading to a paid plan again.

Downgrading an organization with per-seat pricing to free

  1. In the top right corner of GitHub, click your profile photo, then click Your profile. Profile photo

  2. On the left side of your profile page, under "Organizations", click the icon for your organization. organization icons

  3. Under your organization name, click Settings. Organization settings button

  4. In your organization's Settings sidebar, click Billing. Billing settings

  5. Under "Downgrade your plan," select Downgrade options, then click Downgrade to the Free plan. Drop-down menu with option to downgrade an organization to free

  6. Read the information about what happens when you cancel a paid plan, then click I understand, downgrade my plan.

Downgrading an organization with per-repository pricing to free

  1. In the top right corner of GitHub, click your profile photo, then click Your profile. Profile photo

  2. On the left side of your profile page, under "Organizations", click the icon for your organization. organization icons

  3. Under your organization name, click Settings. Organization settings button

  4. In your organization's Settings sidebar, click Billing. Billing settings

  5. Under "Billing overview", click Change plan. Billing overview change plan button

  6. In the Plans table, next to the plan you'd like to switch to, click Downgrade.
    Downgrade button
  7. Select the reason you're downgrading your account, then click Downgrade plan. Billing confirmation button

Further reading