You can downgrade your account to a different billing plan or to the free plan at any time.

Downgrading to free does not affect your subscriptions for other paid features and products. If you want to cease all of your paid subscriptions on GitHub, you must downgrade each paid subscription separately.

Warning: When you downgrade your billing plan, your new plan takes effect on your next billing date. Make sure to back up your private repositories before your next billing date, or you won't be able to access them without upgrading to a paid plan again.

In this guide

Downgrading your personal account's billing plan to free

  1. In the upper-right corner of any page, click your profile photo, then click Settings. Settings icon in the user bar
  2. In your user settings sidebar, click Billing. Billing settings

  3. Under "Downgrade your plan", click Downgrade to free. Downgrade to free button

  4. Read the information about what happens when you cancel a paid plan, then click I understand, downgrade my plan.

Removing paid seats from your organization

If you're not using all of your organization's paid seats, you can downgrade to pay for fewer seats.

Your organization's number of paid seats must equal the number of organization members and outside collaborators or bots that have access to any of your private repositories.

When you downgrade your organization's number of paid seats, changes are applied at the end of your current billing cycle. You'll need to reduce the number of paid seats that your organization uses to match the new number of paid seats before your paid seat count drops on your next billing date.

To reduce the number of paid seats your organization uses, you can remove members from your organization or convert members to outside collaborators and give them access to only public repositories.

  1. In the top right corner of GitHub, click your profile photo, then click Your profile. Profile photo

  2. On the left side of your profile page, under "Organizations", click the icon for your organization. organization icons

  3. Under your organization name, click Settings. Organization settings button

  4. In your organization's Settings sidebar, click Billing. Billing settings

  5. Under "Billing overview", click Remove seats. Downgrade seats link in billing settings

  6. Under "Remove seats", select the number of seats you'd like to downgrade to. Menu to select new number of seats
  7. Review the information about your new payment on your next billing date, then click Remove seats to finish downgrading.

Downgrading an organization with per-seat pricing to free

Only organization members with the owner or billing manager role can access or change billing settings for your organization.

  1. In the top right corner of GitHub, click your profile photo, then click Your profile. Profile photo

  2. On the left side of your profile page, under "Organizations", click the icon for your organization. organization icons

  3. Under your organization name, click Settings. Organization settings button

  4. In your organization's Settings sidebar, click Billing. Billing settings

  5. Under "Downgrade your plan," select Downgrade options, then click Downgrade to the Free plan. Drop-down menu with option to downgrade an organization to free

  6. Read the information about what happens when you cancel a paid plan, then click I understand, downgrade my plan.

Downgrading an organization with per-repository pricing to free

Only organization members with the owner or billing manager role can access or change billing settings for your organization.

  1. In the top right corner of GitHub, click your profile photo, then click Your profile. Profile photo

  2. On the left side of your profile page, under "Organizations", click the icon for your organization. organization icons

  3. Under your organization name, click Settings. Organization settings button

  4. In your organization's Settings sidebar, click Billing. Billing settings

  5. Under "Billing overview", click Change plan. Billing overview change plan button

  6. In the Plans table, next to the plan you'd like to switch to, click Downgrade.
    Downgrade button
  7. Select the reason you're downgrading your account, then click Downgrade plan. Billing confirmation button

Downgrading your organization from GitHub Business Cloud to the Team plan

Only organization members with the owner or billing manager role can access or change billing settings for your organization.

When you downgrade your billing plan, changes are applied at the end of your current billing cycle. On your next billing date, you will lose access to all of GitHub Business Cloud's features, including user management with SAML SSO, 24/5 support, and GitHub Business Cloud's uptime service level agreement.

  1. In the top right corner of GitHub, click your profile photo, then click Your profile. Profile photo

  2. On the left side of your profile page, under "Organizations", click the icon for your organization. organization icons

  3. Under your organization name, click Settings. Organization settings button

  4. In your organization's Settings sidebar, click Billing. Billing settings

  5. Under "Downgrade your plan," select Downgrade options, then click Downgrade to the Team plan. Downgrade options menu

  6. Read the information about the features your organization will no longer have access to on your next billing date, then click I understand, downgrade my plan.

Further reading