If you wish to stop your recurring payments and downgrade to free, you can do so at any time.

Tip: Plan changes take effect immediately. Make sure you clone your private repositories before you downgrade or you won't be able to access them without upgrading to a paid plan again.

  1. In the upper-right corner of any page, click your profile photo, then click Settings. Settings icon in the user bar
  2. In your user settings sidebar, click Billing. Billing settings

  3. Under "Downgrade to free", click Downgrade. Cancel plan link

  4. Select the reason you're downgrading your account. Cancel plan survey

  5. Read the information about what happens when you cancel a paid plan, then click Cancel plan.

Further reading