When you delete an organization, all repositories, forks of private repositories, wikis, issues, pull requests, and Project or Organization Pages are deleted as well. The organization name becomes available for use on a new user or organization account, and your billing will end.

Tip: If you want to cancel your paid plan, you can downgrade your organization to free instead of deleting the organization and its content.

1. Back up your organization content

Once you delete an organization, GitHub cannot restore your content. Therefore, before you delete your organization, make sure you have a copy of all private repositories, wikis, and issues from the account.

2. Delete the organization

  1. In the top right corner of GitHub, click your profile photo, then click Your profile. Profile photo

  2. On the left side of your profile page, under "Organizations", click the icon for your organization. organization icons

  3. Under your organization name, click Settings. Organization settings button

  4. Near the bottom of the organization's settings page, click Delete this Organization. Delete this organization button