If you've completed all the tasks in a project board or no longer need to use a project board, you can close the project board.

When you close a project board, any configured workflow automation will pause by default.

If you reopen a project board, you have the option to sync automation, which updates the position of the cards on the board according to the automation settings configured for the board. For more information, see "Reopening a closed project board" or "About automation for project boards."

Closing a repository project board

  1. On GitHub, navigate to the main page of the repository.

  2. Under your repository name, click Projects. Project tab

  3. In the projects list, next to the project board you want to close, click . Chevron icon to the right of the project board's name

  4. Click Close. Close item in the project board's drop-down menu

Closing an organization-wide project board

  1. In the top right corner of GitHub, click your profile photo, then click Your profile. Profile photo

  2. On the left side of your profile page, under "Organizations", click the icon for your organization. organization icons

  3. Under your organization name, click Projects. Projects tab for your organization

  4. In the projects list, next to the project board you want to close, click . Chevron icon to the right of the project board's name

  5. Click Close. Close item in the project board's drop-down menu

Further reading