You can block a user if they're not interested in Playing Nicely Together. This is a great alternative to waiting until Godwin's Law rears its ugly head.

When you block a user, they can't add you as a collaborator. If they @mention you anywhere on GitHub, you won't receive any notifications.

In repositories you own, blocked users cannot:

  • Open issues
  • Fork the repository
  • Send pull requests
  • Comment on issues and pull requests
  • Add or edit wiki pages
  • Add stars

Tip: If you're blocking a user because of a heated conversation, consider locking the conversation so only collaborators can comment.

Blocking a user

  1. Visit the user's profile page.

  2. In the upper-right corner of the profile, click . Profile stop button

  3. In the drop down menu, click Block User. Block user dropdown

Contact if you're being harassed. GitHub does not tolerate abuse. For more information on GitHub's policies, see our Terms of Service.

Further reading