Organization owners can block a user to remove the user's ability to collaborate on the organization's repositories. Organization owners can also block users for a specific amount of time. After the block expires, the user is automatically unblocked.

At the time that you block a user from your organization:

  • The user stops watching your organization's repositories
  • The user's stars and issue assignments are removed from your repositories
  • The user is removed as a collaborator on your organization's repositories

After you've blocked a user from your organization, they cannot:

  • Cross-reference your organization's repositories in comments
  • Fork, watch, or star your organization's repositories

In your organization's repositories, blocked users also cannot:

  • Open issues or send pull requests
  • Comment on issues, pull requests, or commits
  • Add or edit wiki pages

The user is not directly notified that you've blocked them.

Tip: If you're blocking a user because of a heated conversation, consider locking the conversation so only collaborators can comment.

  1. To block an organization member, remove the user from the organization.

  2. In the top right corner of GitHub, click your profile photo, then click Your profile. Profile photo

  3. On the left side of your profile page, under "Organizations", click the icon for your organization. organization icons

  4. Under your organization name, click Settings. Organization settings button

  5. In your organization's Settings sidebar, click Blocked users. Blocked users in organization's settings

  6. Under "Block a user", type the username of the user you'd like to block. Username field

  7. If you'd like to set a time limit for the block, use the Block options drop-down menu, and select the amount of time you'd like to block the user. Block options drop-down menu
  8. Click Block user. Block button

Further reading