Managing repository settings
Repository administrators and organization owners can change several settings, including the names and ownership of a repository and the public or private visibility of a repository. They can also delete a repository.
Setting repository visibility→
You can choose who can view your repository.
Classifying your repository with topics→
To help other people find and contribute to your project, you can add topics to your repository related to your project's intended purpose, subject area, affinity groups, or other important qualities.
Customizing how changed files appear on GitHub→
To keep certain files from displaying in diffs by default, or counting toward the repository language, you can mark them with the
linguist-generated attribute in a .gitattributes file.
About email notifications for pushes to your repository→
You can choose to automatically send email notifications to a specific email address when anyone pushes to the repository.
Customizing your repository's social media preview→
You can customize the image displayed on social media platforms when someone links to your repository.
Viewing deployment activity for your repository→
You can view information about deployments for your entire repository or a specific pull request.
Managing the forking policy for your repository→
You can allow or prevent the forking of a specific private repository owned by an organization.
Enabling anonymous Git read access for a repository→
As a repository administrator, you can enable or disable anonymous Git read access for public repositories that meet certain requirements.
Configuring autolinks to reference external resources→
You can add autolinks to external resources like JIRA issues and Zendesk tickets to help streamline your workflow.
Renaming a repository→
You can rename a repository if you're either an organization owner or have admin permissions for the repository.
Transferring a repository→
You can transfer repositories to other users or organization accounts.
Deleting a repository→
You can delete any repository or fork if you're either an organization owner or have admin permissions for the repository or fork. Deleting a forked repository does not delete the upstream repository.